The Ylvisaker Cup, the third leg of the 16-goal circuit in the United States, following the Continental Cup and the Joe Barry Memorial Cup, continued on Tuesday February 6, with two games that took place at Patagones Polo Club. The contest, that’s underway at the National Polo Center and Patagones Polo Club, in Wellington, Florida, have been established in 2003, as a tribute to William T. “Bill” Ylvisaker, one of the most remarkable American player, and a true pioneer of polo, who encouraged to the development and growth of the sport in the Florida area, in the 70s and 80s.


Forbes Plunkett, who are not playing the Ylvisaker Cup, was victorious in the Continental Cup and Joe Barry Memorial Cup, the two previous 16-goal league tournaments.


The competition sees eleven teams up to 16 goals, split in two leagues, in participation, and the final is set to be played on Sunday February 25, at the  National Polo Center.


Today’s matchdate took place at Patagones PC. In the opening game, and after a tight contest, Flying H claimed a narrow 12-11 win over Catamount, in extra chukka, with Miguel Novillo Astrada producing the winning goal; up next, Mayer Ranch made an impressive combeback in the two last chukkas, to defeat Patagones 12-10.



FLYING H 12-11 CATAMOUNT (extra chukka)

Flying H: Will Johnston 1, Miguel Novillo Astrada Jr. 2, Miguel Novillo Astrada 8, Santino Magrini 4. Total: 15.

Catamount: Scott Devon 0, Rufino Merlos 3, Keko Magrini 6, Lucas Criado Jr. 6. Total: 16.

Score Flying H: 3-1, 4-3, 5-5, 7-6, 8-10, 11-11, 12-11.

Umpires: Horacio Onetto & Julian Appleby.                         Third man: Jaimie Mirikitani.



Mayer Ranch: Kenneth Meyer 5, Matt Coppola 5, Costi Caset 5, Jared Zenni 6. Total:

Patagones: Jack Whitman 3, Joaquín Avendaño 4, Edward Banner-Eve 5, Santiago Wulff 5. Total:

Score Mayer Ranch: 0-4, 3-6, 4-8, 6-8, 11-8, 12-10.

Umpires: Martín Pascual & Ronnie Hayes.                             Third man: Dale Schwetz.


Action for the Ylvisaker Cup will resume through Wednesday February 7 and Thursday February 8, with the following order of play:


Wednesday February 7:

1pm: BTA vs. La Fe Dazos (National Polo Center).


Thursday February 8:

1pm: Novo Polo vs. SD Farms Old Hickory Bourbon (Patagones PC).


Ylvisaker Cup: Teams & Fixture