The competitors of the 20-goal Ylvisaker Cup, one of the most important tournaments of the season at International Polo Club Palm Beach, have been announced. Eight teams will participate in the tournament, which kicks off on Saturday, January 19 and will come to an end on Sunday, February 10. This year will see a new team take the title, since Valiente, 2018 winners, will not compete.


As expected, this year will see fewer teams partake—thirteen teams took part in 2018—as this year’s tournament caters to teams of 22-goals, after the USPA decided to lower the handicap from 26-goals.


Many organisations decided to make the jump from 20 to 22 goals and are preparing to battle it out in the first edition of the Gauntlet of Polo, which culminates with sixteen teams playing the US Open.



Bracket I

Dutta Corp.: Timmy Dutta 2, Lucas Díaz Alberdi 5, Gringo Colombres 7, Kris Kampsen 6. Total: 20.

SD Farms: Sayyu Dantata 2, Peco Polledo 6, Jesse Bray 6, Juan Martin Obregon 5. Total: 19.

Tonkawa: Jeff Hildebrand A, Costi Caset 5, Sapo Caset 10, Toto Collardin 5. Total: 20.

Pilot: Curtis Pilot A, Matias Gonzalez 3, Lucas James 7, Facundo Pieres 10. Total: 20.

Bracket II

Coca-Cola: Gillian Johnston 2, Sugar Erskine 6, Julian de Lusarreta 8, Wes Finlayson 4. Total: 20.

La Indiana: Michael Bickford 2, Toly Ulloa 4, Jeff Hall 7, Facundo Obregon 6. Total: 19.

Iconica: Maureen Brennan 1, Peke Gonzalez 5, Sebastian Merlos 9, Dylan Rossiter 5. Total: 20.

Patagones: Joaquin Avendaño 2, Benjamin Avendaño 3, Tomas Garcia del Rio 7, Santiago Toccalino 8. Total: 20.



Saturday 19:

12pm: Dutta Corp vs. SD Farms

3pm: Tonkawa vs. Pilot  

Sunday 20:

12pm: Iconica vs. Patagones

3pm: Coca Cola vs. La Indiana

Saturday 26:

12pm: Bracket II Loser vs. Bracket II Loser

3pm: Bracket II Winner vs. Bracket II Winner

Sunday 27:

Bracket I Loser vs. Bracket I Loser

Bracket I Winner vs. Bracket I Winner

Saturday Feb 2:

12pm & 3pm: Bracket I Teams who haven’t played each other

Sunday 3:

12pm & 3pm: Bracket II Teams who haven’t played each other

Wednesday 6:

Ylvisaker Cup Semifinals

Thursday 7:

George Haas Subsidiary Semifinals

Sunday 10:

12pm: George Haas Cup Final