The Ylvisaker Cup continued at International Polo Club Palm Beach as Aspen defeated Palm Beach Equine by 10 goals to 8 on Sunday, January 24. The tournament sees four teams, up to 18 goals, compete.

The match was hard fought, with Aspen narrowly leading for most of the game. Palm Beach Equine managed to outscore Aspen 3-2 in the fifth, tying the game 8-all with only one chukka left to play. The sixth saw Lucas James and Ignacio Alberbide score a goal apiece to seal the deal for Aspen.

Aspen’s Keko Magrini, who scored five goals, was named MVP, while Ninja Patico, played by Gringo Colombres, took BPP honours. Palm Beach Equine’s Costi Caset was the top scorer of the match, with six goals.


Score Aspen: 2-1, 3-2, 4-3, 6-5, 8-8, 10-10.

Aspen: Keko Magrini 2 (5 goals), Ignacio Alberbode 5 (3), Lucas James 8 (1), Stewart Armstrong 3 (1). Total: 18.

Palm Beach Equine: Costi Caset 5 (6 goals), Robbie Bilbao 5, Gringo Colombres 8 (2), Scott Swerdlin 0. Total: 18.



Aspen vs. Palm Beach Equine


The Ylvisaker Cup continued on Tuesday, January 26, with a match between Beverly Polo and Tamera, at 3pm.


The Ylvisaker Cup finals are set for Sunday, February 7.


Aspen: Keko Magrini 2, Ignacio Alberbode 5, Lucas James 8,  Stewart Armstrong 3. Total: 18.

Beverly Polo: Bill Ballhaus 0, Peke Gonzalez 6*, Tolito Fernández Ocampo 6, Hilario Figueras 4. Total: 16. (*Replaces Lucas Díaz Alberdi 6, due to an injury)

Palm Beach Equine: Costi Caset 5, Robbie Bilbao 5, Gringo Colombres 8, Scott Swerdlin 0. Total: 18.

Tamera: Alejandro Poma 1, Lucas Escobar 3, Diego Cavanagh 9, Luis Escobar 5. Total: 18.



Wednesday 20, 3pm:  Beverly Polo 11-10 Aspen

Thursday 21, 3pm:  Palm Beach Equine 10-7 Tamera

Sunday 24, 3pm:  Aspen 10-8 Palm Beach Equine

Tuesday 26, 3pm:  Beverly Polo vs. Tamera

Saturday 30, 3pm:  Beverly Polo vs. Palm Beach Equine

Sunday 31, 3pm:  Aspen vs. Tamera

Wednesday, 3pm: Mini Semifinal – Second vs. Third

Sunday 7 – FINALS

10am  Ylvisaker Subsidiary Cup: Fourth vs. Loser mini semi

3pm  Ylvisaker Cup Final: First placed team vs. Winner of mini semifinal