A new edition of The Gauntlet of Polo kicked off on Friday February 9, with the first tournament of the series, the CV Whitney Cup. The Gauntlet of Polo will be played entirely at the National Polo Center, in Wellington, Florida, United States. The Gauntlet of Polo has been inaugurated in 2019 and the only team up-to-date who claimed the three tournaments of the series – CV Whitney Cup, USPA Gold Cup and US Open – is Pilot, precisely in the opening year, 2019. The 2024 CV Whitney Cup sees eight teams up to 22 goals, split in four brackets, compete.


The opening match delivered an unexpected blow: Coca Cola defeated current title holders, Valiente, by a 12-10 score. Both teams had changes within their lineups. Coca Cola’s Kristos Magrini was replaced by Alfonso Pieres, while Valiente’s Francisco de Narvaez Jr. was subbed in by Federico Panzillo. Up next, and following a hard fought game that was decided in the last chukka, Tamera claimed a narrow 11-10 win over La Fe.




Coca Cola: Gillian Johnston 9 (3 goals), Julián de Lusarreta 7 (2), Alfonso Pieres 5*, Polito Pieres 9 (6). Total: 21.

*Subbed in for Kristos Magrini.

Valiente: Bob Jornayvaz 0, Mariano González 7 (6 goals), Federico Panzillo 5**, Adolfo Cambiaso 10 (3). Total: 21.

**Subbed in for Francisco de Narvaez Jr.

Score Coca Cola: 4-2, 6-4, 7-4, 9-5, 11-8, 10-12.

Umpires: Martín Pascual & Héctor Galindo.                                 Third man: Danny Juarez.



Tamera: Alejandro Poma 1, Diego Cavanagh 8 (3 goals), Matías Torres Zavaleta 8 (4), Segundo Saravi 5 (2). Total: 22.

*1 goal on Penalty 1.

La Fe: Francisco Elizalde 9 (6 goals), Louis Devalieux 1 (2), Lucas Díaz Alberdi 6 (2), Robi Bilbao 6. Total: 22.

Score Tamera: 1-2, 2-3, 5-3, 6-6, 8-9, 11-10.

Umpires: Steve Dalton & Gastón Lucero.                                       Third man: Horacio Onetto.


Originally known as the U.S. Handicap, the C.V. Whitney Cup was first played in 1979. Nine years later, in 1988, the tournament was renamed for C.V. (Cornelius Vanderbilt “Sonny”) Whitney, an avid polo player, three-time winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship (1928,1937, 1938) and son of 10-goal Hall of Famer, Harry Payne Whitney.


The CV Whitney Cup, will continue on Saturday February 10 as follows:

11am: Park Place vs. Pilot

3pm: La Dolfina vs. Dutta Corp.



CV Whitney Cup: February 9 – 25.

USPA Gold Cup: February 23 – March 24.

U.S. Open Polo Championship: March 22 – April 21.


Utilizing the same prize money distribution for the 2023 Gauntlet of Polo, the format guarantees a total of $200,000 in prize money. $50,000 will be awarded to each of the winning teams of the C.V. Whitney Cup and USPA Gold Cup. Similarly, $100,000 in prize money will bepresented to the winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship and any team that wins all three tournaments will be crowned the Gauntlet Champion. In keeping with the spirit of philanthropy, U.S. Polo Assn. will provide a $2,500 donation to the winner and runner-up teams of all three finals to be donated to a polo charity of their choice.

All Sunday games are due on the National Polo Center main ground.


CV Whitney Cup – Teams & Fixture


Cover photo by Agustina Fonda.