As anticipation builds leading to the launch of the newly-minted GUANTLET OF POLO series, the United States Polo Association (USPA), USPA Global Licensing (USPAGL) and International Polo Club Palm Beach (IPC) are pleased to announce the 16 teams that will contend for the title of GAUNTLET champion. A pivotal moment in the history of polo competition, the challenge has drawn a record number of elite teams from across the nation and internationally for a chance at glory and the $1,000,000 stakes.


USPA CEO Robert Puetz commented on the impressive rosters boasting top players from around the world. “With this year’s lineup of a record 16 teams playing in all three tournaments, each team has the makeup of talent and experience for being the first GAUNTLET Champion. It will be exciting to watch the series unfold and find out who has the horses and determination to pull it off.”


The 2019 tournament series will kick off February 13-24, 2019 with the C.V. Whitney Cup, continue with the USPA Gold Cup, February 24-March 24, 2019, and conclude with the illustrious U.S. Open Polo Championship March 27-April 21, 2019. The prize money format will guarantee $125,000 to each of the winning teams of the C.V. Whitney Cup and the USPA Gold Cup, and a $250,000 prize for the winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship. Additionally, any team who wins all three tournaments consecutively will be awarded a $500,000 bonus, for a total of $1 million in prize money and crowned as the first ever GAUNTLET Champion.


The stage is set for an unprecedented contest of skill and endurance as teams and their equine partners descend upon Wellington, Florida, for three months of demanding competition in pursuit of the ultimate prize. “Sixteen teams is a very important number,” said 9-goaler Nico Pieres. “It’s been awhile since there have been sixteen teams anywhere in the world, so it’s going to be a special season. I’m thrilled to be playing, and I hope this is the beginning of many good years for polo in the United States,” Pieres continued.



Brookshire Polo Team: Scott Wood A, Lucas James 7, Polito Pieres 10, Pedro Falabella 5. Total: 22.

Cessna Polo Team: Chip Campbell 2, Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario 7, Felipe Márquez 6, Felipe Viana 6. Total: 21.

Coca-Cola: Gillian Johnston 2, Wesley Finlayson 4, Julián de Lusarreta 8, Ignacio Novillo Astrada 8. Total: 22.

Daily Racing Form: Jared Zenni 6, Gerónimo Obregon 4, Santiago Cernadas 6, Agustin Obregon 6. Total: 22.

Equuleus: Joe DiMenna A, Iñaki Laprida 7, Magoo Laprida 8, Mariano González 7. Total: 22.

Iconica: Maureen Brennan 1, Peke González 5, Sebastian Merlos 9, Matias Magrini 7. Total: 22.

La Indiana: Michael Bickford 2, Facundo Obregon 6, Jeff Hall 7, Tomas Garcia del Rio 7. Total: 22.

Las Monjitas: Camilo Bautista A, Hilario Ulloa 10, Francisco Elizalde 8, Matthew Coppola 4. Total: 22.

Park Place: Andrey Borodin A, Juan Britos 8, Nico Pieres 9, Tommy Collingwood 5. Total: 22.

Pilot: Facundo Pieres 10, Gonzalito Pieres 9, Matías Gonzalez 3, Curtis Pilot A. Total: 22.

Postage Stamp Farm: Annabelle Gundlach A, Lerin Zubiaurre 8, Mariano Aguerre 8, Joaquin Panelo 6. Total: 22.

Santa Clara: Nico Escobar 3, Mariano Obregon 6, Ignacio Toccalino 8, Luis Escobar 5. Total: 22.

SD Farms:  Sayyu Dantata 2, Peco Polledo 6, Tito Ruiz Guiñazu 8, Jesse Bray 6. Total: 22.

Stable Door Polo: Henry Porter 3, Santino Magrini 4, Toro Ruiz 6, Santiago Toccalino 8. Total: 21.

Tonkawa: Jeff Hildebrand A, Tincho Merlos 8, Sapo Caset 10, Sterling Giannico 4. Total: 22.

Team Name TBD: Will Johnston 2, Jason Crowder 6, Miguel Novillo Astrada 9, Stevie Orthwein 4. Total: 21.