The Houston Polo Club experienced significant rainfall throughout the fall season, but player spirits were not dampened as the U.S. Open Women’s Polo Championship began on schedule, Tuesday, November 6. Heavy rain expected in the forecast, Open games were rescheduled for two consecutive days in an effort to play both preliminary rounds. After back-to-back days of tireless competition, 2017 finalists Rocking P and tournament underdogs Midland Polo Club earned positions in Sunday’s final.


Rocking P Seek Redemption after 2017 Open Final Defeat


Rocking P met Midland Polo Club on opening day of the U.S. Open Women’s Polo Championship eager to start off solid with their newest team member, Kenyan 6-goaler Tiva Gross. Three unanswered Rocking P goals in the first chukker set the tone for the remainder of the game, Midland Polo Club adding only one to the scoreboard off the mallet of Molly Smith. Rocking P players combined for an additional three goals to finish the day strong 6-1.


On Wednesday, November 7, Rocking P faced off against rivals San Saba, eager for redemption after suffering a disappointing overtime loss in last year’s final. A Penalty 3 conversion from San Saba’s Lia Salvo early in the first was the only goal to make it on the board before a misfortunate trip by her horse during play sidelined her from continuing. Only half a chukker played and 3:04 remaining in the first, San Saba decided to forfeit. Although unable to get another game under their belts, spirits were high on the Rocking P team as they looked forward to Sunday’s final.


Midland Polo Club Pulls Off Second-Half Upset to Secure Final Placement


Armed with the formidable English 10-goaler Nina Clarkin, BTA challenged the women of San Saba in the first match of the U.S. Open Women’s Polo Championship. Firing hard on their opponents’ goal posts, BTA maintained the lead throughout four chukkers to claim the first win of the day 7-4.


BTA then met Midland Polo Club in second round competition on Wednesday, November 7. San Saba out of the running and Rocking P holding a 2-0 record, the winners of the day’s matchup would earn a spot against Rocking P in the final. 20-goal Midland Polo Club had their work cut out for them, having suffered a loss the day prior and now facing a 25-goal team. BTA’s Lucy Coddington put the first tally on the board. Coddington’s score would prove to be the only goal in the first half, as BTA led 1-0 after two chukkers. A double yellow called on a dangerous riding play at the top of the third sat Clarkin for two minutes providing Midland with a pivotal opportunity for two penalty conversions. Dayelle Fargey and Smith perfectly executed both penalties to gain the lead. The teams traded goals once more in the third to end the chukker 3-2, Midland Polo Club holding a narrow advantage. One chukker left and Sunday’s final on the line, BTA added another goal to equalize the score. Showcasing incredible heart, an offensive push by Midland Polo Club enabled Izzy Parsons to score back-to-back goals, sealing the win for her team 5-3.


The pinnacle of women’s polo in the nation, Hudspeth was overjoyed with her team’s performance. “You have no idea how happy I am to make it to the finals, I have played the Open five times, I think, and never made it to the finals. I’ve battled these women the last few years, Hazel [Jackson] and Lottie [Lamacraft], and I am so proud of our team and how we came together to make it this far.”


Houston Polo Club will host the 2018 U.S. Open Women’s Polo Championship Final, Sunday, November 11, at 3:30pm ET. Local fans are encouraged to spectate and may purchase tickets at For those unable to attend the game in person, the USPA Polo Network will livestream the final on



Tuesday, Nov 6th:

BTA 7-4 San Saba

Rocking P 6-1 Midland

Wednesday, Nov 7th:

Rocking P 1-0 San Saba

BTA 3-5 Midland

Sunday, Nov 11th:




MIDLAND: Molly Smith 3, Tiamo Hudspeth 5, Dayelle Fargey 6, Izzy Parsons 6. Total: 20.

ROCKING P: Courtney Price 3, Lottie Lamacraft 5, Hazel Jackson 9, Tiva Gross 6. Total: 23.

BTA: Chrys Beal 3, KC Krueger 7, Nina Clarkin 10, Lucy Coddington 6. Total: 26.

SAN SABA: Dawn Jones 6, Mia Bray 4, Sarah Wiseman 8, Lia Salvo 8. Total: 26.


SOURCE: United States Polo Association

PHOTO: Kaylee Wroe Photography