Weather permitting, the República Argentina Cup will resume on Sunday March 28, with the remaing games that were delayed due to rains. It is the most coveted tournament of the Autumn season in Argentina, played at the AAP in Pilar and at Palermo.


These will be the last qualification games, and the winners will join Sauveterre Monterosso and Cuatro Vientos in semifinals.


The República Argentina Cup was established in 1929. It is considered the most prestigious tournament of the Autumn season, as teams from all over the country are elegible to play this unique competition, which invites teams rated from 0 to 40 goals to compete. The final phase is played between Palermo and the AAP grounds in Pilar, while the final takes place at Palermo. It is worth noting that the República Argentina Cup is played on handicap, and ties are permitted during the qualification stage.


This edition marks the comeback of this remarkable tournament after it was cancelled in 2020 due to the global pandemic. The last team to win the República Argentina Cup was La Esquina, back in 2019.


This year, the República Argentina Cup sees sixteen teams, up to 26 goals, compete. Teams are broken down into four leagues. Top players–such as 10-goaler Pelón Stirling, Guillermo Terrera, Cubi Toccalino, Iñaki Laprida, Jero del Carril, Alfredo Bigatti, Mín Podestá, Diego Araya, and AAP President Eduardo Novillo Astrada (who will be playing alongside his son, Cruz)–are set to compete.


The República Argentina Cup final has been rescheduled for Thursday April 1.


The games due on Sunday March 28 are the following: 


12pm: Arelauquen P. C. – Patagonia Polo vs. San Francisco de Asís – La Irenita

2pm: Trenque Lauquen – Thai Polo vs. La Justina

Argentine Polo Association Headquarters, in Pilar

10am: La Violeta – Synergy Cloning vs. La Baguala – Tapia

12pm: La Aguada vs. Ivi Maray – Black Hound


Latest Results: 

Wednesday, March 24:


MediaLuna 17 vs. Venado Tuerto 16

Cuatro Vientos 12 vs. Betania 12.

AAP Pilar:

Chapaleufú – El Tilo 13 vs. Araucaria 13

Sauveterre P. & C. C. – Monterosso 10 vs. Coronel Suárez  8