La Magdeleine and Dubai scored wins in a new league round for the Queen’s Cup, that took, place on Friday May 20.  Guards Polo Club’s premier tournament sees fifteen teams, up to 22 goals, compete for the coveted trophy.


After having lost to Dubai in their debut match, La Magdeleineque took a 14-11 win over newcomers, Clinova, led by their flagship man, Pablo MacDonough, who produced nine goals. In the follow-up, Jeta Castagnola was the man of the day, after he scored no less than eleven goals to secure Dubai their second victory in the tournament, this time against Thai Polo NP, by a 16-12 score.




La Magdeleine: Alexandre Garese 0, Ollie Cudmore 6 (1 goal), Pablo MacDonough 9 (9), Facundo Fernández Llorente 7*. Total: 22.

*Subbed in by Martín Podestá 7 (3).

Clinova: Raja Karim 0*, Alejandro Muzzio 7 (4 goles), Malcolm Borwick 5 (4), Bautista Bayugar 8**. Total: 20.

*Subbed in by Luke Wiles.

**Subbed in by Jared Zenni 6 (3).

Score La Magdeleine: (0-2) 3-3, 6-4, 8-7, 8-10, 10-11, 14-11.

Umpires: Ben Turner & Jason Dixon.

Third man: Howard Smith.

BPP UK: Irenina Kioskera (Escriba Sensación x Irenita Golosa), bred by La Irenita, owned and ridden by Pablo MacDonough.



Dubai: Rashid Albwardy 1 (1 goal), Matt Perry 5 (3), Camilo Castagnola 9 (11), Jerónimo del Carril 7*. Total 22.

*Subbed in by Guillermo Terrera 7 (1)

Thai Polo NP: Ned Hine 5 (9 goles), Lucas Criado Jr 5*, César Crespo 6**, Louis Hine 4 (1). Total: 21.

*Subbed in by Ignacio Negri 6 (1).

**Subbed in for Agustín Merlos.

Score Dubai: (0-1) 3-2, 4-5, 8-7, 10-8, 14-9, 16-12.

Umpires: Howard Smith & Peter Wright.

Third man: Ben Turner.

BPP UK: Espi Pulpera (Open Zenón x Espi Plusmania), owned by La Natividad, bred by Francisco Bargallíó and ridden by Camilo Castagnola.


Action for the Queen’s Cup will be back on Saturday May 21, with the following schedule: 

11,30pm: King Power vs. Twelve Oaks Les Lions (Noel Farm- SL6 2NW)

3,30pm: Monterosso vs. UAE – Royal Windsor Horse Show Cup (The Duke’s Ground)


The final of the Queen’s Cup is set to be played on Sunday, June 12.  


The Queen’s Cup – Teams & Fixture