With three finals, Sunday was one of the busiest days at Palermo ever! After the final of the Camara de Diputados Cup, the II Women’s Argentine Open came to an end on ground two. The final saw the same eight players that battled it out in 2017 take to the field.


It is worth saying that this is the best women’s polo match in the world. El Overo Z7 UAE got off to a strong start, and managed to lead the match until the fifth chukka, when La Dolfina Brava came back to make it 8-all. It was Brava’s Candelaria Fernandez Araujo, a true talent in the international women’s polo circuit, who scored the winning goal to give her team the title for a second consecutive year. Her father, Milo, who is also the team coach, and Adolfo Cambiaso, were there to celebrate the win.


This championship marks a milestone in women’s polo, and will surely encourage more patrons and brands to the support women’s polo, as was the case this year with HH Sheikha Maitha both in UK and in Argentina.



La Dolfina Brava: Mía Cambiaso 6 (2 goals), Milagros Fernández Araujo 7 (1), Nina Clarkin 10 (3), Candelaria Fernández Araujo 8 (3). Total: 31.

El Overo Z7 UAE: Clara Cassino 7 (2 goals), Hazel Jackson-Gaona 9 (1 penalty), Lía Salvo 9 (4, 3 penalties), Sarah Wiseman 7 (1). Total: 32.

Score La Dolfina Brava: 0-2, 0-2, 1-3, 3-5, 7-7, 9-8.

Umpires: Martín Aguerre & Gastón Lucero.               

Referees: Martín Pascual.

MVP of the final: Nina Clarkin.

Fair Play Award: Clara Cassino.

BPP by the AAP & Secretary of Agroindustry: Fax Cherokee, played by Mía Cambiaso.

BPP by the Argentine Breeders Association: El Overo Alcachofa, played by Hazel Jackson.




Images gallery: