Park Place and La Dolfina were victorious on the second matchdate of the CV Whitney Cup, played on Saturday February 10. The first leg of The Gauntlet of Polo is currently underway at the National Polo Center, in Wellington, Florida, United States. The Gauntlet of Polo has been inaugurated in 2019 and the only team up-to-date who claimed the three tournaments of the series – CV Whitney Cup, USPA Gold Cup and US Open – is Pilot, precisely in the opening year, 2019. The 2024 CV Whitney Cup sees eight teams up to 22 goals, split in four leagues, in participation.


The final of the CV Whitney Cup is due on Sunday February 25.


In the first match of the day, Park Place claimed a 16-12 win over the 2023 runner-up, Pilot. La Dolfina made a successful debut in America – they defeated Dutta Corp by an impressive 14-9. As happened in the opening day, there were some changes within team lineups today. Park Place’s Andrey Borodin was subbed in by Josh Escapite, while Gonzalo Deltour filled in for Pilot’s Facundo Pieres. It is worth to note that Facundo won’t be playing the CV Whitney Cup, after he got injured during a practice; therefore, he will be subbed in by Gonzalo Deltour for the remaining of the tournament.




Park Place: Josh Escapite 0** (2 goals), Juan Britos 9 (2), Hilario Ulloa 10 (10), José Meirelles 3 (1). Total: 22.

*1 goal on 1.

**Subbed in for Andrey Borodin.

Pilot (+4 on handicap): Curtis Pilot 0, Santiago Torres 6, Santos Merlos 6 (2 goles). Gonzalo Deltour 6*** (6). Total: 18.

***Subs in for Facundo Pieres.

Score Park Place: (0-4) 2-5, 5-5, 8-7, 13-9, 15-12, 16-12.

Umpires: Julian Appleby & James Mirikitani.                                 Third man: Steve Dalton.



La Dolfina: Dillon Bacon 2, Quinn Evans 1, Poroto Cambiaso 10 (9 goals), Tomás Panelo 9 (5). Total: 22.

Dutta Corp: Timmy Dutta 4 (2 goals), Joaquín Avendaño 4 (1), Tomás García del Río 8 (2), Mariano Obregón 6 (4). Total: 22.

Score La Dolfina: 2-2, 4-3, 7-3, 9-6, 13-8, 14-9.

Umpires: Kimo Huddleston & Tommy Hayes.                            Third man: Héctor Galindo.


Originally known as the U.S. Handicap, the C.V. Whitney Cup was first played in 1979. Nine years later, in 1988, the tournament was renamed for C.V. (Cornelius Vanderbilt “Sonny”) Whitney, an avid polo player, three-time winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship (1928,1937, 1938) and son of 10-goal Hall of Famer, Harry Payne Whitney.


The CV Whitney Cup will continue on Tuesday February 13, with the following games:

11am: Coca Cola vs. La Fe

3pm: Valiente vs. Tamera



CV Whitney Cup: February 9 – 25.

USPA Gold Cup: February 23 – March 24.

U.S. Open Polo Championship: March 22 – April 21.


Utilizing the same prize money distribution for the 2023 Gauntlet of Polo, the format guarantees a total of $200,000 in prize money. $50,000 will be awarded to each of the winning teams of the C.V. Whitney Cup and USPA Gold Cup. Similarly, $100,000 in prize money will bepresented to the winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship and any team that wins all three tournaments will be crowned the Gauntlet Champion. In keeping with the spirit of philanthropy, U.S. Polo Assn. will provide a $2,500 donation to the winner and runner-up teams of all three finals to be donated to a polo charity of their choice.

All Sunday games are due on the National Polo Center main ground.


CV Whitney Cup – Teams & Fixture


Cover photo by Agustina Fonda.