Action for the CV Whitney Cup, the first leg of The Gauntlet of Polo, resumed on Tuesday February 13, with a double matchdate. The Gauntlet of Polo has been inaugurated in 2019 and the only team up-to-date who claimed the three tournaments of the series – CV Whitney Cup, USPA Gold Cup and US Open – is Pilot, precisely in the opening year, 2019. The tournament, currently underway at the National Polo Center, in Wellington, Florida, United States, sees eight teams up to 22 goals, split in four leagues, in participation.


The final of the CV Whitney Cup is due on Sunday February 25.


Coca Cola and Valiente were victorious on Tuesday. Gillian Johnston’s lineup earned their second consecutive win, this time over La Fe/Dazos by 13-9. In the meantime, reigning champions, Valiente bounced back from their debut loss, precisely against Coca Cola, and beat Tamera 11-9.




Coca Cola: Gillian Johnston 0 (1 goal), Kristos Magrini 6 (5), Polito Pieres 9 (5), Julián de Lusarreta 7 (2). Total: 22.

La Fe/Dazos: Robi Bilbao 6 (1 goal), Lucas Diaz Alberdi 6, Francisco Elizalde 9 (8), Louis Devaleix 1. Total: 22.

Score Coca Cola: 4-1, 7-3, 9-5, 11-7, 12-9, 13-9.

Umpires: Julian Appleby & Steve Dalton.                                   Third Man: Ronnie Hayes.



Valiente*: Bob Jornayvaz 0, Francisco de Narvaez Jr. 5 (1 goal), Mariano González Jr. 7 (6), Adolfo Cambiaso 10 (2). Total: 22.

*1 goa on Penalty 1.

Tamera**: Alejandro Poma 1, Segundo Saravi 5 (2 goals), Matías Torres Zavaleta 8 (2), Diego Cavanagh 8 (4). Total: 22.

**1 goal on Penalty 1.

Score Valiente:2-3, 5-4, 6-5, 6-7, 8-8, 11-9.

Umpires: Kimo Huddleston & Gastón Lucero.                             Third man: Martin Pascual.


The CV Whitney Cup will resume on Wednesday February 14 as follows:

11am: Park Place vs. Dutta Corp

3pm: La Dolfina vs. Pilot

(it is worth to note that Pilot’s Facundo Pieres will miss the CV Whitney Cup due to an injury during a practice. He will be subbed in by Gonzalo Deltour for the remaining of the contest).


Originally known as the U.S. Handicap, the C.V. Whitney Cup was first played in 1979. Nine years later, in 1988, the tournament was renamed for C.V. (Cornelius Vanderbilt “Sonny”) Whitney, an avid polo player, three-time winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship (1928,1937, 1938) and son of 10-goal Hall of Famer, Harry Payne Whitney.



CV Whitney Cup: February 9 – 25.

USPA Gold Cup: February 23 – March 24.

U.S. Open Polo Championship: March 22 – April 21.


Utilizing the same prize money distribution for the 2023 Gauntlet of Polo, the format guarantees a total of $200,000 in prize money. $50,000 will be awarded to each of the winning teams of the C.V. Whitney Cup and USPA Gold Cup. Similarly, $100,000 in prize money will bepresented to the winner of the U.S. Open Polo Championship and any team that wins all three tournaments will be crowned the Gauntlet Champion. In keeping with the spirit of philanthropy, U.S. Polo Assn. will provide a $2,500 donation to the winner and runner-up teams of all three finals to be donated to a polo charity of their choice.

All Sunday games are due on the National Polo Center main ground.


CV Whitney Cup – Teams & Fixture


Cover photo by Agustina Fonda.