The USPA has unveiled the full fixture for the upcoming USPA Gold Cup, second leg of the Gauntlet of Polo. The series will then continue with the most prestigious tournament of the season: the US Open Polo Championship. As in the CV Whitney Cup, sixteen 22-goal teams are set to compete. Among them are Pilot and Las Monjitas, CV Whitney Cup finalists.


The USPA Gold Cup kicks off on Thursday, February 28th, with two matches. The final is scheduled for Sunday, March 24th.



Friday, March 1st:

10am: Stable Door Polo vs. Coca Cola

12pm: Equuleus v. Cessna

4pm: Iconica vs. Santa Clara

Saturday, March 2nd:

10am: SD Farms vs. Pilot

12pm: Daily Racing Form vs. Old Hickory Bourbon

4pm: Postage Stamp Farm vs. Las Monjitas

Sunday, March 3rd:

10am: Aspen vs. La Indiana

3pm: Tonkawa vs. Park Place

Tuesday, March 5th:

10am: Iconica vs. Equuleus

4pm: Santa Clara vs. Cessna

Wednesday, March 6th:

10am: Coca Cola vs. Las Monjitas

4pm: Stable Door Polo vs. Postage Stamp Farm

Thursday, March 7th:

10am: Daily Racing Form vs. SD Farms

4pm: Old Hickory Bourbon vs. Pilot

Friday, March 8th:

4pm: Tonkawa vs. Aspen

Sunday, March 10th:

10am: Stable Door Polo vs. Las Monjitas

12pm: Park Place vs. La Indiana

3pm: Iconica vs. Cessna

Monday, March 11th:

10am: Coca Cola vs. Postage Stamp Farm

4pm: Santa Clara vs. Equuleus

Tuesday, March 12th:

10am: Daily Racing Form vs. Pilot

4pm: Old Hickory Bourbon vs. SD Farms

Wednesday, March 13th:

10am: Tonkawa vs. La Indiana

4pm: Aspen vs. Park Place

Saturday, March 16th:

10am & 4pm: USPA Gold Cup Quarterfinals

Sunday, March 17th:

10am & 3pm: USPA Gold Cup Quarterfinals

Tuesday, March 19th:

10am & 12:30pm: Patriots Cup Subsidiary Semifinal

2pm & 5pm: Sawgrass Cup Subsidiary Semifinal

Wednesday, March 20th:

10am & 4pm: USPA Gold Cup Semifinals

Friday, March 22nd:

10am: Patriots Cup Subsidiary Final

5pm: Sawgrass Cup Subsidiary Final

Sunday, March 24th:




Teams will play within their bracket. After the first round, the top two teams in each bracket will advance to the quarterfinals. Two-way ties will be broken by who beat who. All others will be broken by a one-man shoot out. Teams that do not advance to the quarterfinals will advance to the subsidiary tournaments.


Quarterfinal Pairings will be as follows:

Quarterfinal One: Bracket I winner vs. Bracket II second

Quarterfinal Two: Bracket II winner vs. Bracket III second

Quarterfinal Three: Bracket III winner vs. Bracket IV second

Quarterfinal Four: Bracket IV winner vs. Bracket I second


Quarterfinal winners will play the semifinals. If possible, teams will play a team they have not already played. Teams who have played each other will draw from those they have not played. All other pairings will be by draw. Semifinal winners will play the USPA Gold Cup Final.




La Indiana: Michael Bickford 2, Jeff Hall 7, Facundo Obregon 6, Tomas Garcia del Rio 7. Total: 22.

Tonkawa: Jeff Hildebrand A, Tincho Merlos 8, Sapo Caset 10, Sterling Giannico 4. Total: 22.

Aspen: Tomás Schwencke 2, Lucas James 7, Polito Pieres 10, Stewart Armstrong 3. Total: 22.

Park Place: Andrey Borodin A, Juan Britos 8, Nico Pieres 9, Tommy Collingwood 5. Total: 22.



Las Monjitas: Camilo Bautista A, Francisco Elizalde 8, Hilario Ulloa 10, Matthew Coppola 4. Total: 22.

Stable Door Polo: Henry Porter 3, Santino Magrini 4, Victorino Ruiz 6, Santiago Toccalino 8. Total: 21.

Coca-Cola: Gillian Johnston 2, Steve Krueger 4, Julian de Lusarreta 8, Nacho Novillo Astrada 8. Total: 22.

Postage Stamp Farm: Annabelle Gundlach A, Lerin Zubiaurre 8, Mariano Aguerre 8, Joaquín Panelo 6. Total: 22.



Cessna Polo Team: Chip Campbell 2, Gallego Martínez Ferrario 7, Felipe Márquez 6, Felipe Viana 6. Total: 21.

Iconica: Maureen Brennan 1, Peke Gonzalez 5, Sebastian Merlos 9, Matias Magrini 7. Total: 22.

Santa Clara: Nico Escobar 3, Nino Obregon 6, Cubi Toccalino 8, Luis Escobar 5. Total: 22.

Equuleus: Joe DiMenna A, Iñaki Laprida 7, Magoo Laprida 8, Mariano González 7. Total: 22.



Pilot: Curtis Pilot A, Matias Gonzalez 3, Gonzalito Pieres 9, Facundo Pieres 10. Total: 22.

Daily Racing Form: Geronimo Obregon 4, Santiago Cernadas 6, Agustin Obregon 6, Jared Zenni 6. Total: 22.

Old Hickory Bourbon: Will Johnston 2, Jason Crowder 6, Miguel Novillo Astrada 9, Stevie Orthwein 4. Total: 21.

SD Farms: Sayyu Dantata 2, Pelon Escapite 6, Tito Ruiz Guiñazu 8, Peco Polledo 6. Total: 22.