Scone, Ellerstina Pilot, La Dolfina and Monterosso have qualified for the semifinals of the 57th Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup after the last league games played on Sunday, September 18, at the Jockey Club, in San Isidro.  The Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup is one of the most significant tournaments of the Argentine season, as well as being the competition that precedes the much anticipated Argentine Triple Crown. The tournament is hosted by Harald Link’s organization, Thai Polo, with the support of Minuto 7 Polo and the Argentine Association of Polo.


Scone, La Hache and  La Ensenada (with Alfredo Bigatti back in the saddle after he missed the debut game, where he was subbed in by Santiago Loza) claimed respective victories on Sunday over Cría La Dolfina, El Overo Z7 UAE and La Aguada. The man of the day was undoubtedly La Ensenada’s Juan Britos, who scored a total of eleven goals.


Therefore, the semifinalists are the winners of League A (Scone), League B (Ellerstina Pilot) and League C (La Dolfina, who claimed their spot in the next stage due to a better goal average). Monterosso earned the fourth spot in semifinals as the top second ranked team in the standings.


The 57th Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Club sees nine teams, between 26 and 31 goals, compete. Teams are split into three leagues.


The 57th Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup IS STREAMED LIVE ON POLOLINE TV HERE.




SCONE: David Paradice 0, Camilo Castagnola 10 (5 goals), Poroto Cambiaso 9 (6), Bartolomé Castagnola 10 (4). Total: 29.

CRÍA LA DOLFINA: Hilario Figueras 6, Gonzalo Ferrari 6 (1 goal), Pedrinho Zacharias 7 (4), Tomás García del Río (1) 7*.Total: 26.

*Subbed in for Julián de Lusarreta 7.

Score Scone: 3-1, 4-4, 7-5, 10-5, 12-5, 15-6.

Umpires: Federico Martelli & Guillermo Villanueva.                    

Third man: Martín Goti.


LA HACHE 9-8 EL OVERO Z7 UAE (extra chukka)

LA HACHE: Hilario Ulloa 9 (6 goals), Francisco Elizalde 9 (2), Santiago Cernadas 7 (1), Salvador Ulloa 7 (1). Total: 32.

EL OVERO Z7 UAE: Lukin Monteverde 6 (3 goals), Matías Torres Zavaleta 8 (1), Guillermo Caset 9 (3), Cruz Heguy 6 (1).. Total: 29.

Score La Hache: 3-0, 4-1, 5-3, 5-4, 8-6, 8-8, 9-8.

Umpires: Martín Pascual & Guillermo Villanueva.                               

Third man: Hernán Tasso.



LA ENSENADA: Ernesto Gutiérrez 0 (1 goal), Alfredo Bigatti 9 (1), Juan Britos 9 (11), Isidro Strada 8. Total: 26.

LA AGUADA: Cruz Novillo Astrada 5, Manuel Sundblad 6, Miguel Novillo Astrada 8 (5 goals), Ignacio Novillo Astrada 8 (1). Total: 27.

Score La Ensenada: 1-1, 3-1, 4-3, 8-5, 12-5, 13-6.

Umpires: Federico Martelli & Martín Pascual.                                

Third man: Hernán Tasso.


The 57th Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup will resume with the semifinals, due on Wednesday, September 21 and Thursday, September 22, as follows:


Wednesday, September 21, SF #1:

3pm: La Dolfina vs Monterosso (Jockey Club San Isidro, ground #2)

Thursday, September 22, SF #2:

3,30pm: Scone vs Ellerstina Pilot (Jockey Club San Isidro, ground #1)


The final of the 57th Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup is set to be played on Saturday, September 24.


57 Jockey Club Open Thai Polo Cup – Fixture & Teams


Cover photo by Matias Callejo