FIP World Polo Championship: Less than a month to go
FIP World Polo Championship: Less than a month to goFIP World Polo Championship: Less than a month to go

FIP World Polo Championship: Less than a month to go


September 25, 2017
September 25, 2017
Jack Archibald will captain the Australian team at the prestigious XI FIP World Polo Championship to be held at Sydney Polo Club, Richmond, from October 21 to 29. The six-time capped national player will be joined by Alex Barnet, Jake Daniels, Lachlan Gilmore, George Hill, Jack Kiely, James Lester, Daniel O’Leary and Alec White.

A humble Archibald, 28, is excited to lead the Australian team for the first time and plans on leaving "nothing in the tank. Representing your country at any level is a great privilege but to be a part of the World Cup team and having the opportunity to compete in front of a home crowd makes it even more special and a once in a lifetime opportunity," he said.

Alec White added he was looking forward to a very competitive tournament: "We have a mix of experienced and some fantastic up-and-coming players so will work hard to play a smart team game," he said. "Hopefully we can use playing on home soil in front of family, friends and a supportive Aussie crowd to our advantage and do everyone proud."

The eight international teams have been divided into two pools and will play a round-robin competition of 12 games before the two highest placed teams in each pool compete in the finals.

ARGENTINA: Tomás María Panelo 3, Valentín Novillo Astrada 5, Iván Maldonado 4, Ignacio Javier Bello 2, Héctor Guerrero 5,  Lucio Fernández Ocampo 5, Estanislao Grahn 2, Gerónimo Fanelli 5 and Diego Braun (Coach).
AUSTRALIA: Jack Archibald 5, Alec White 5, Jake Daniels 4, Daniel O’Leary 3, Jack Kiely 3, James Lester 3, Lachlan Gilmore 2, George Hill 2, Alex Barnet 2. Coach: James Harper.
SPAIN: Pelayo Berazadi Rózpide 5, Mario Gomez 4, Antonio Ayesa Guix 4, José Marío Trénor Lowestein 2, Jaime Serra Diez 2, Ricardo Trujillo 3, Luis Benjumea Llorente (Manager) and Benjamín Araya (Coach).
USA: Jesse Bray 5, Felipe Viana 5, Daniel Galindo 2, Jimmy Wright 2, Matías González 2, CB Scherer 2, Carlos Arellano Jr 5, Wesley Finalyson 4. Coach: Joel Baker. Manager: Bob Puetz.

CHILE: Pablo Villela 5, Francisco Martínez 5, Antonio Eguiguren 4, Jose Miguel Pereira Riesco 4, Ignacio Vial Mazieres 4, Romano Vercellino 4, Andres Vial Perez 3 (Coach), José Ignacio Martínez 2, Martín Arrau 2, Agustín Von Unger 2.
ENGLAND: Satnam Singh Dhillon 5, Henry Porter 2, Peter Webb 5, Josh Cork 2, Edward Banner-Eve 2, Sam Gairdner 4, Jack Berner 3, Adolfo Casabal (Coach/Manager).
INDIA: Col Ravi Rathore 5, Dhruv Pal Godara 5, Angad Kalaan 4, Siddhant Sharma 3, HH Sawai Padmanabh Singh 2, Pranav Kapur 2 and Uday Kalaan (Coach).
NEW ZEALAND: Glen Sherriff 5, Kit Brooks 5, Guy Higginson 5, Cody Forsyth 4, Nick Keure 4, brothers Henry (3) and Jonny Jones 2, Sam Martin 3, Adam Haworth 2, Mark Duncan 2 and Richard Hunt (Coach).

Sat, Oct 21st: 
10:30am: Argentina vs USA
2:30pm: Australia vs Spain
Sun, Oct 22nd:
11am: England vs India
2:30pm: Chile vs New Zealand
Tue, Oct 24th:
11am & 2:30pm: Pool A Games.
Wed, Oct 25th:
11am & 2:30pm: Pool B Games.
Sat, Oct 28th:
10am, 12pm, 2:30pm & 4:30pm: Pools A and B matches. 
Sun, Oct 29th:
11am: Third Place Match.
2:30pm: FIP World Polo Championship Final.