FIP World Polo Championship Sydney 2017
FIP World Polo Championship Sydney 2017FIP World Polo Championship Sydney 2017

FIP World Polo Championship Sydney 2017

New Zealand qualify for World Cup

February 2, 2017
February 2, 2017
The Zone D playoffs for the upcoming XI Fip World Polo Championship took place at the Thai Polo & Equestrian Club, in the city of Pattaya, Thailand. Malaysia and New Zealand battled it out in a single match for a spot in the championships that will be held in October in Sydney, Australia.

After a practice on Tuesday to get used to the horses, each team was provided with a batch of 25 horses, divided in 3 categories: A, B and C. The person in charge of this process of selection was Gines Bargalló.

Malaysia, who specially prepared for this event after taking part in several tournaments in the country, such as the Thai Polo Open, was very confident and had good knowledge of the field. Rivals New Zealand arrived in Thailand on Monday night, they were the favourites, having an experienced player in their lineup: Cody Forsyth.

Malaysia started the game off well, with 1.5 goals advantage due to handicap, but New Zealand quickly showed its full potential, commanded by Henry Jones, and by the end of the first chukka they were leading the scoreboard by 3 goals 1.5.

The next two chukkas saw Saladin Mazlan find his inspiration: together with his teammates, he was able to make a comeback and reach halftime only half a goal behind the men in black. Malaysia kept up their performance until the last period, when Cody Forsyth scored to reclaim the lead. 

In spite of Malaysia's excellent final performance, they couldn't beat the powerful New Zealanders, who claimed a 9-5.5 win, earning a spot in the upcoming World Championship.

New Zaeland: Henry Wood 2, Henry Jones 3, Cody Forsyth 4, Glenn Sheriff 5. Total: 14.
Malaysia: Shaik Raismann 3, Amran Selamat 3, HH Prince Ahmad Shazril 3, Saladin Mazlan 3. Total: 12. 

Score New Zealand: (0-1.5) 3-1.5, 4-2.5, 5-4.5, 8-5.5, 9-5.5.
BPP: Dogo (played by Hnery Jones / property of Mohamed Moiz).
MVP: Cody Forsyth.

The FIP authorities, headed by President Nicholas Colquhoun-Denvers, attended the event, as did the organisers Peter Abisheganaden and Mohamed Moiz. Now, New Zealand is one of the four qualified teams, alongside with Argentina, Australia and Chile.